Mental Health

Mental Health

Looking for help? You’re not alone. SSMU is committed to providing members of our community with resources and information that can help nourish your body and mind. McGill has a wealth of health and well-being initiatives that we encourage all students to take advantage of. Come check out the great things related to mental health that are happening on campus, and see how you can start your wellness journey today!

Crisis Hotlines available through McGill University and the larger Montreal community:

Nightline Chatline

Available Thursday to Saturday from 6pm to 3am

McGill Students’ Nightline
514-398-6246 (Peer Support)
Open 7 days a week 6pm to 3am, ONLY DURING FALL AND WINTER SEMESTERS

514-398-8500 (Peer Support) Hours of operation updated weekly on website

Suicide Action Montreal (SAM)
514 723-4000 (Community Support)
Regional Line in Montreal offering 24 hour support, 7 days a week

*If you or someone you care about is in a dangerous situation which required urgent attention, please call 9-1-1, or go to your local hospital’s emergency room*

McGill Mental Health Hub, Service Center, Peer Support Center, and other relevant groups:

SACOMSS – Sexual Assault Center of the McGill Students’ Society.

Peer Support Center – Student run initiative through SSMU. Non-judgemental, always confidential.

McGill’s Student Chapter of – “Seeking to break down the stigma and open up the conversation surrounding mental health” –

Healthy McGill – “Connects you to resources, info & support to live healthy at McGill”

McGill Mental Health Hub – “Connecting our community to support and information surrounding mental well-being”

McGill Mental Health Service – Located in the Brown Building 5500 (Professional help on campus)
Operating Hours: 9am-4pm
Urgent Care available Monday to Friday, 11am-1pm
514-398-6019 – appointments by PHONE or IN PERSON only

McGill Counselling Service – Located in the Brown Building 4200 (Professional help on campus)
Operating Hours: 9am-4pm
514-398-3601 – appointments by PHONE or IN PERSON only

Contact Us

Vice-President Student Life 2017/2018:
Jemark Earle

Mental Health Commissioners 2017/2018:
Ebby Crowe and Vithushon Thayalan