Office of the Speaker | Bureau de Président du Conseil **Tela (614)** 398-6800 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | speaker@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories

SSMU LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL / SEPTEMBER 28th, 2017

Motion Regarding Nominations to the SSMU Board of Directors

Whereas, the Society shall be managed by a Board of Directors composed of twelve (12) voting Directors:

Whereas, subject to Section 6.3 of the Constitution, the Board of Directors shall be composed of:

- A. Three (3) Officers of the SSMU as described in the Constitution;
- B. One (1) additional Officer as determined by Legislative Council;
- C. Four (4) Members-at-Large and;
- D. Four (4) members of Legislative Council.

Whereas, the Board of Directors is currently operating with only three (3) executives;

Whereas, Jemark Earle, the Vice-President (Student Life) is the sole Officer being considered for a nomination to the Board of Directors;

Whereas, the approval of the Vice-President (Student Life) to the Board of Directors is immediately necessary in order to have a functioning Board of Directors;

Be it resolved, that the SSMU Legislative Council nominate Jemark Earle, Vice-President (Student Life), to be the fourth Officer to sit on the Board of Directors, effective immediately.

Moved by:

Maya Koparkar, Vice-President (Internal Affairs) Tre Mansdoerfer, Senate Caucus Representative to SSMU Caitlin Bazylykut, Nursing Representative to SSMU

