

Legislative Council – January 25th, 2018

## Motion Regarding Nominations to the SSMU Board of Directors

*Whereas*, the Society shall be managed by a Board of Directors composed of twelve (12) voting Directors;

*Whereas*, subject to Section 6.2 of the Constitution, the Board of Directors shall be composed of;

- A. Three (3) Officers of the SSMU as described in the Constitution;
- B. One (1) additional Officer as determined by Legislative Council;
- C. Four (4) Members at Large and;
- D. Four (4) members of Legislative Council.

Whereas, the Board of Directors is currently operating with only three (3) Officers;

*Whereas*, Esteban Herpin, the newly elected SSMU Vice-President (Finance) is neither a Canadian citizen or permanent resident which makes him ineligible to serve on the Board of Directors (SSMU Constitution, Section 6.3 (iii));

*Whereas*, Connor Spencer, the Vice-President (External) is the sole Officer being considered for a nomination to the Board of Directors;

*Whereas*, the approval of the Vice - President (External) to the Board of Directors is immediately necessary in order to have a functioning Board of Directors;

**Be it Resolved, that** the SSMU Legislative Council nominate Connor Spencer, Vice - President (External), to be the fourth Officer to sit on the Board of Directors, effective immediately.

## Moved by:

Muna Tojiboeva, SSMU President Anthony Koch, First Year Council Representative Kevin Zhou, Arts Representative