

Office of the Speaker Bureau de Président du Conseil

Submitted For: October 22, 2014 Postponed For: February 11, 2015

Motion Regarding Standing in Solidarity With Students and Protesters Demanding a Democratic Government in Hong Kong

Whereas the Chinese government has determined that it will only allow residents of Hong Kong to elect the leader of the city from a list of candidates pre-approved by Beijing¹;

Whereas in the past weeks there has been a grassroots movement, involving many students, aimed at protesting against and rejecting this limitation on democracy²:

Whereas this movement's protests have been recently attacked by Hong-Kong police, who have been filmed using pepper spray and batons against protesters³;

Whereas this movement's attempts to negotiate with the Hong Kong government are not expected to bear fruit by protesters, as the mainland Chinese government will not be in attendance⁴:

Whereas there are members of the Society which hail from Hong Kong and whose lives at home will be directly affected by the outcome of this situation;

Be it resolved, that the SSMU adopt a position of solidarity with the protesters in Hong Kong, especially our fellow students:

Be it resolved, that the SSMU, through an appropriate mechanism, issue a statement of solidarity with the protesters in Hong Kong and condemning repressive actions by the Hong Kong and Chinese authorities, especially police brutality;

Be it resolved, that the above statement have as part of its aim the education of McGill students regarding the issue, and thus should include a brief recapitulation of the situation in Hong Kong as well as the reasons for SSMU's position of solidarity,

Moved by:

Councillor Benrimoh Councillor Ibrahim

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-china-27921954

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-china-29408476

³ Ibid.

⁴www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/10/20/hong-kong-negotiations-go n 6016982.html



Students' Society of McGill University Association étudiante de l'Université McGill

Office of the Speaker Bureau de Président du Conseil

Councillor Subhani Councillor Kpeglo-Hennessy Councillor Chin

