

# Office of the Speakers

Bureau de Présidents du Conseil

# Notice of Motion Regarding Accountable Leadership

Notice given: March 28, 2013

Whereas, the SSMU Executives and Councillors are elected by their respective student memberships,

Whereas, the SSMU Executives are contracted employees,

Whereas, the SSMU Executive job contracts contain a defined set of rules and responsibilities,

Whereas, all undergraduate students of the downtown campus are automatically members of the SSMU, and therefore pay the following membership fee according to their undergraduate program and their credit load (the threshold being at 9 credits):

Program	Amount for 9 credits or more:	Amount for less than 9 credits:
Arts, Architecture (B.Sc. Arch) Education, Engineering, Music, Management, Nursing, Physical & Occupational Therapy, Science, and Arts & Science	\$43.13/term	\$21.51/term
Law, Religious Studies, Dentistry, and Medicine.	\$32.29/term	\$16.09/term

Whereas, accountability should be institutionalized in the Society to ensure responsible governance;

Resolved, that the attached Accountable Leadership Policy be adopted as a Policy of the SSMU, to expire April 11, 2018.

# Accountable Leadership Policy

The SSMU shall endeavour to hold its Executives accountable to Legislative Council and to the Society's members.

### **Performance Reviews**

The SSMU shall undertake at least the following performance reviews for its Executives:

- HR Staff Reviews, to be undertaken annually
- Anonymous Council Reviews, to be undertaken every semester
- Daily office arrival and departure times, logged by front desk staff and to be included in each Executive Report to Council
- Vacation Day Use, logged by the General Manager



### Office of the Speakers

Bureau de Présidents du Conseil

All internal performance benchmarks for Executives recorded by the SSMU shall be made public, subject to relevant confidentiality rules.

Notice given: March 28, 2013

### Members-at-large

Members at large sitting on Committees of Legislative Council shall not be Councilors.

#### Attendance

At the beginning of their mandate, each Executive shall set an in-office schedule subject to the following regulations and to be approved by the Legislative Council:

- Executives will have set in-office hour schedule to comprise at least 8 contiguous hours, every day Monday to Friday, from which they can absent themselves for (i) SSMU-related tasks and meetings, (ii) lectures, labs and similar coursework, and which will be made public on the Society's website.
- Executives will be exempt from their in-office schedule for vacation days or other absences to which they are entitled, or as required for Society business.
- Executives who do not respect their in-office schedule will be subject to confidential reprimand, public reprimand, pay docking, censure and/or a call to resign, at the discretion of Legislative Council.

# **Accountability Committee**

The SSMU shall create an Accountability Committee, subject to the following Terms of Reference:

The Accountability Committee shall hold Executives and Councillors accountable to their contractual obligations, to their responsibilities under the SSMU Bylaw Books and Constitution, and to their constituents.

The Chairs of the Committee shall be responsible for advertising the position of non-Councillor members-at-large not after the second week of september.

The Committee shall:

Compile and review performance evaluations for Executives and Councillors, including their adherence to the Society's Constitution, bylaws, and relevant mandates.

Investigate and subsequently inform Executives and Councillors when their actions contravene the aforementioned rules and regulations.

Collect and anonymously bring to Executives, to Executive Committee, or to Council complaints from members of the Society.

Report publicly to Legislative Council at least once every month.



### Students' Society of McGill University Association étudiante de l'Université McGill

### Office of the Speakers

Bureau de Présidents du Conseil

# The membership shall consist of:

Speaker and Parliamentarian of the Society (Chairs; non-voting)

Councillors (3)

Non-Councillor members-at-large (2)

Student Staff Representative, chosen by the student staff at their volition (1)

Permanent Staff Representative, chosen by the permanent staff at their volition (1)

# Moved by:

Robin Reid-Fraser (VP External) Allison Cooper (VP Clubs and Services) Zachary Rosentzveig, Clubs and Services Representative