Submitted for: October 9th, 2014 **Approved On:** October 9th, 2014

Office of the Speaker Bureau de Président du Conseil

Motion Regarding Zacheriah Houston's Employment at The Nest

Whereas, The Nest selected Zacheriah Houston for the cashier position due to his prior experience working at The Nest;

Whereas, Zacheriah Houston is a sitting Councillor of the student's Society of McGill University representing the Faculty of Science;

Whereas, Bylaw I-2 Article 3.5 states "No Councillor shall be employed by the Society or its agents, except by special perission of Council";

Whereas, the aforementioned Bylaw requires a special motion in order for Councillor Houston to continue his employment at The Nest while serving on Council;

Whereas, per the Committee Terms of Reference, the objective of the Operations Management Committee is to provide strategic oversight and direction for all of the Society's revenue-generating operations and to provide long-term objectives and goals for the management of the William Shatner University Center;

Whereas, it is stated in the Committee Terms of Reference that the Operations Management Committee shall make recommendations to Council on the selection or renewal of building tenants, and that the committee shall make recommendations to the Council on capital investments related to SSMU operations.

Be it resolved, that Council grant special permission as per Bylaw I-2 Article 3.5 to allow Councillor Houston to continue working at The Nest

Be it resolved, that as per the SSMU Conflict of Interest Policy, Councillor Houston shall remove himself from the discussion of any in-camera matters with material impact or connections to the Nest

Be it resolved, that as per the SSMU Conflict of Interest Policy, Councillor Houston shall abstain from voting on matters with material impact or connections to The Nest

Be it resolved, that Councillor Houston resign from the Operations Management Committee.

Moved by Councillor Rourke Councillor Ibrahim



Students' Society of McGill University Association étudiante de l'Université McGill

Office of the Speaker Bureau de Président du Conseil

Councillor Dunbar-Lavoie

Councillor Baraldi

Councillor Kpeglo-Hennessy Councillor El-Sharawy Councillor Rioux

Councillor Sachal

