

REPORT OF THE ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE TO THE SSMU LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

December 1, 2016

Upon presenting the structure of our survey to members of the accountability committee, various recommendations were made to improve how we assess accountability.

- 1. Immediate changes made:
 - Approachability, attendance and activity of Councilors and Executive staff was implemented as a grading criterion
 - Although not currently specific and not providing an external link to spreadsheets with data, observation and recall of the frequency of councilors or executives attendance and participation should suffice to make a thorough evaluation on a Likert scale.
 - The grading scheme should be over 10, which eases the process of transforming the results into a percentage which can then be turned into a letter grade using McGill University's scheme.
- 2. Recommendations for the Future:
 - We should be counting how many executives and councilors move motions, perhaps integrate this into our attendance spreadsheet which will be made available for executive staff and councilors evaluation of participation
 - Based on frequency of report submission, allow executive staff and councilors to consult VIBE's archives of reports to Involvement in committees (commitment, participation)
 - How often do they send reports?
 - Do they send reports?
 - Quality of reports
 - Creation of two general attendance metrics
 - Total attendances (how many attendances should they have)
 - What have they attended
 - Members of Accountability should take turns at sitting in on Legislative Council meetings with the sole purpose of observing Councilors and Executive staff while taking notes which is at their discretion.



3. Results:

A. EXECUTIVE STAFF

Upon the release of the survey assessing the accountability of executive staff through GroupWise, the responses of councilors are as follows: The order from left to right is "approachability" / "accountability" / "Mandate"

- Ben Ger, President: A / B+ / A-
- Erin Sobat, VP University Affairs: A / A / A
- Sacha Magder, VP Operations: A / A- / A
- Daniel Lawrie, VP Internal Affairs: B / B- / A-
- David Aird, VP External Affairs: B+/ B / A-
- VP Student Life: A / A / A
- VP Finance: B+/ A / A-

Cumulative letter grade for Executive staff of 2016-2017 (Fall Semester) = A- / A- / A

B. COUNCILLORS

Upon the release of the survey assessing the accountability of executive staff through GroupWise, the responses of councilors are as follows:

- Arts Representative; Kia Kouyoumjian = a b- b+
- Arts Representative; Igor Sadikov = a a a
- Arts Representative; Isabella Anderson = b+ b+ a-
- Arts Representative; Maria Thomas = a- b a-
- Arts and Science Representative; Jerry Jiang = b+ c b-
- Athletics Representative; Olivia Anne Sutter = N/A
- Clubs Representative; Adam Templer = a b+ a-
- Clubs Representative; Buland Junejo = a a a
- Dentistry Representative; Leonard Nassani = b+ b= b
- Education Representative; Marco Sgro = b b b
- Engineering Representative; Richard (Tre) Mansdoerfer = a a a
- Engineering Representative; Tristan Renondin = a- b+ b+
- Environment Representative; Tuviere Okome = a- c+ c+
- FYC representative, Kevin Zhou = a a a
- Law Representative; Romita Sur = a a a
- Law Representative; Ellen Chen = b+ b+ b+
- Management Representative; Lambert Lefebvre = f f
- Management Representative; Mariam Madwar = b+ b b



- Medecine Representative; Jake Prillo = a a a
- Music Representative; Noah Century = a a a
- Nursing Representative; Mckenzie Gingrich-Hadley = a- b+ a
- Physical and Occupational Therapy Representative; Rachel Medvedev = b+ b+ b+
- Science Representative; Caitlin Mehrotra = a- b b
- Science Representative; Anoosh Poorian = b+ b b-
- Senate Caucus Representative; Joshua Chin = a a a
- Senate Caucus Representative; William Cleveland = a b+ b+
- Services Representative; Kahli-Ann Douglas = a a a
- Social Work Representative; Jasmine Segal = a- b b

We would like to thank you for taking your time to complete the surveys and wish you the best of success on your final exams and the holiday season.

See you in 2017!

Signed,

Udita Samuel (Speaker) and Victor Percoco (Parliamentarian)