The McGill Senate is the highest governing body of the University tasked with general control and supervision over academic matters. It is composed of 111 voting members broadly representative of the University’s constituencies (faculty, staff, students, administrators, Governors and alumni).

Senate meetings regularly take place on the third Wednesday of every month, at 2:30 PM in Room 232 of the Leacock Building (see the dates here). Meetings are open to the public and are live-streamed online (archived for one month).

The more detailed aspects of the Senate’s work take place in various university committees, most of which have undergraduate representation coordinated by SSMU. Seats for student representatives on these committees are filled by Senators as well as students-at-large through an application process. If you would like to see a specific change or initiative in policy at McGill, contact your faculty Senator, or send an email to

The Board of Governors

The President of the SSMU occupies the sole undergraduate seat on the McGill University Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is the highest governing body of the University, and unlike Senate, it is more focused on issues that are relevant to McGill as a corporation. Board members (called “Governors”) must sit on a committee of the Board. This year, the President sits on the Executive Committee as well as on the Nominating, Governance, and Ethics committee (NGE).

University Committees

More detailed aspects of the McGill Senate’s work take place in various committees of Senate and other University-level committees. To see a list of all committees with undergraduate representation, please click here.


There are 13 Student Senators representing the undergraduate student body on the McGill University Senate. Each Senator is elected for a one-year term by their respective constituents, typically the undergraduate students in a specific Faculty or School.

The 13 Undergraduate Senators convene every Monday at 6:30 PM in the SSMU Office for the weekly Senate Caucus meeting. These meetings are an opportunity to strategize and discuss the state of their various advocacy efforts, committee meetings, and constituency projects. These meetings are open to all SSMU members: any student can attend to observe or to raise a topic concerning student life. If you wish to attend, please notify the University Affairs Secretary General at

To send an email to all Senators, direct your message to Note that since the SSMU President and VP University Affairs are also senators, emails sent to this address will also reach them. For individual Senator’s emails, please refer to the list below.

SSMU Senate Caucus Biweekly Reports

SSMU Senators publish bi-weekly reports of the work they do in various committees, the Senate itself, as well as any projects that they undertake. The reports are posted on the University Affairs website.

Image Constituency Name Email Address
Arts Sam Baron
Arts Coco Jie Wang
Arts and Science Sonya Liu
Dentistry Mahidul Syed
Education TBD
Engineering David Vaillancourt
Law Joshua Werber
Management Ghali Benjelloun Touimi
MCSS Alireza Roosta
Medicine Mustafa Fakih
Music TBD
Nursing Jose Londono Velez
Outaouais TBD
Science Claire Hunter
Social Work TBD
University Affairs Secretary General Joy Zhang
President Risann Wright
Vice-President (University Affairs) Kerry Yang