

Students' Society of McGill University Association étudiante de l'Université McGill

Office of the Speakers Bureau de Présidents du Conseil

Referendum Question Regarding the Composition of Council

Whereas Article 4.1 of the SSMU Constitution currently reads:

Council shall be composed of the following:

- The executive officers as described in Section II of the Title elected in accordance with this Constitution and Bylaws;
- One (1) councilor elected by and from each Faculty or School for every two thousand students (2,000) or part thereof to a maximum of four (4) councilors in accordance with the procedures set out by that constituency;
- Three (3) councilors elected by and from the Society's activities, clubs and functional groups in accordance with this Constitution and Bylaws;
- Three (3) councilors elected by and from the undergraduate student members of the Senate, excluding the President and Vice-President (University Affairs), in accordance with this Constitution and Bylaws;
- One (1) councillor elected by and from students living in McGill residences in accordance with the procedures set out by that constituency;
- One (1) councillor elected by and from the Students' Athletics Council in accordance with the procedures set out by that constituency;
- The First Year Councillor;
- The Speaker (non-voting) chosen in accordance with this Constitution and Bylaws;
- The General Manager of the Society (ex-officio, non-voting).

Whereas, some student societies representing the students of a School, including the Architecture Students' Association and McGill Environment Students' Society, are officially recognized as departmental societies of faculty-level student societies and therefore are already represented by student representatives on Council;

Whereas, the only change from current practice that passing this question will cause is the removal of the Architecture Councillor seat, to which the Architecture Students' Association has assented, as they are now represented by the Engineering Undergraduate Society;

Whereas, it has become common practice to employ two Speakers of Council to ensure a higher standard of procedure;

Whereas, the Recording Secretary is responsible for taking minutes throughout all Council meetings;

Whereas, all other changes represent clarifications in wording and do not deviate from current practice;

Do you agree that Article 4.1 of the SSMU Constitution be amended to read as follows?

Council shall be composed of the following:



Students' Society of McGill University Association étudiante de l'Université McGill

Office of the Speakers Bureau de Présidents du Conseil

- The executive officers as described in Section II of the Title elected in accordance with this Constitution and Bylaws;
- One (1) councilor elected by and from each Faculty or School, if that School is not already represented by a faculty-level student association, for every two thousand students (2,000) or part thereof to a maximum of four (4) councilors in accordance with the procedures set out by that constituency;
- Three (3) councilors elected by and from the Society's clubs and services in accordance with this Constitution and Bylaws;
- Three (3) councilors elected by and from the undergraduate student members of the Senate, excluding the President and Vice-President (University Affairs), in accordance with this Constitution and Bylaws;
- One (1) councillor elected by and from students living in McGill residences in accordance with the procedures set out by that constituency;
- One (1) councillor elected by and from the Students' Athletics Council in accordance with the procedures set out by that constituency;
- One (1) councillor from the SSMU First Year Council in accordance with the procedures set out by that constituency;
- The Speakers (non-voting) chosen in accordance with this Constitution and Bylaws;
- The General Manager of the Society (ex-officio, non-voting);
- The Recording Secretary of the Society (non-voting).

Submitted by:

Maggie Knight, President Kady Paterson, Education Representative Ian Clarke, Law Representative Dylan Doyle, Arts Representative Carol Fraser, VP Clubs & Services Emily Clare, VP University Affairs