Office of the President Bureau du Président

Memorandum

To: SSMU Council

CC: Speakers of Council, Lauren Hudak and Zach Newburgh

From: Ivan Neilson, SSMU President

Date: 9/15/2009

Re: Council Committee Elections

Please find enclosed with your documents a list of committees for the 2009-2010 year. At the September 17th meeting, the executive will explain in further detail what is expected of each work group. Nominations will be accepted until the next Council document deadline, **Monday September 28th**, **5PM**. Elections for contested seats take place at the following meeting on October 1st.

As mandated in the bylaws, councillors <u>must</u> serve on at least one committee.

Because of the pressing nature of the business of the Finance Committee (FC), elections for that body will follow a slightly different schedule. Councillors wishing to submit their candidacy may either (1) submit a 50 word motivation by Thursday September 17th at 4PM or (2) deliver a 30 second motivation at Council. The FC will be elected by the conclusion of the meeting, so they may begin to meet immediately.

Councillors wishing to know more about this committee are strongly encouraged to contact either Jose Diaz (Vice-President, Finance & Operations) or Sarah Olle (Vice-President, Clubs & Services).

Respectfully Submitted,

Ivan Neilson, President 2009-2010