

Office of the Speaker Bureau de Président du Conseil

Board of Directors Nomination Blurbs

Farzan Subhani – Clubs and Services Rep.

Having had the opportunity of sitting on the SSMU Board of Directors and Legislative Counicl in 2012-2013, I have had firsthand experience of being a Board Member. And although, being a member of the Board of Directors is mostly ceremonious, I understand that the responsibilities at the hands of any director are immense should the need arise. Directors are the official representatives of SSMU in any legal, internal or external matter. Another stint as a member of the BOD will give me the opportunity to continue serving students at McGill, both as a Councillor and Director.

I am also a Canadian Citizen and meet the requirements of the Quebec Government for alcohol permit purposes.

Kareem Ibrahim – Senate Caucus Rep.

The reason I'm interested in being a part of the Board of Directors of SSMU this year is two-fold. To begin, I care a lot about SSMU and prioritize the overall student experience. In addition, having been involved with both SSMU Council and the BoD last year, I am familiar with the issues that SSMU deals with and the history of the organisation. For these reasons, I would love to continue to serve students as a part of the Board of Directors.

Joshua Chin – Medicine Rep.

I would like to apply to a Councillor position in the SSMU Board of Directors. In terms of qualifications, I am member of the steering committee, which already keeps me up to date with pressing issues and concerns of SSMU constituents and the legislative council. This in turn will enable me to exercise the powers of a Director while being informed of the matters at hand. In addition, I am very interested in politics, the legal system, and administration, and this position would enable me to further develop my skills and expand my experience in these areas. I thank you for allowing me to bring my nomination forth.

Councillors Subhani, Ibrahim, Chin, Rioux, Dunbar-Lavoie, Houston, Pelletier, Zhang, Kpeglo-Hennessy were all nominated.