

**Office of the Speaker | Bureau de Président du conseil** Tel: (514) 398-6800 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | speaker@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish Street, Suite 1200, Montréal, Québec, H3A 0G3 *Located on unceded, Kanien'kehá:ka traditional territory* 

Submitted for: October 11th, 2018

## Motion Regarding Charity Fee Referendum Question 2018-10-11

**WHEREAS**, the SSMU Charity Fee was formerly known as the "Community Engagement Fee". In outdated documents, the term "Community Engagement Fee" may be used and should be consider synonymous with "Charity Fee" as outlined in the Internal Regulations of Finance amended by the Legislative Council on 04-06-2017;

WHEREAS, the SSMU Charity Fee should be renamed from "Community Engagement Fee";

**WHEREAS,** the SSMU Charity Fee, which is dispensed in the form of the SSMU Charity Fund, was created in 2010 in an effort to empower campus members to engage in charitable initiatives on campus and in their personal lives as well as build community on campus;

**WHEREAS,** the Charity Fund offers monetary support to initiatives that contribute to providing opportunities to those who are deprived of opportunity because of uncontrollable factors;

WHEREAS, the Charity Fund initiatives are made to adhere to the SSMU Sustainability Policy;

**WHEREAS,** all the members of the Society are eligible for funding given that they have not opted out of the fee;

**BE IT RESOLVED, THAT** that the SSMU Council approve the following question for the Fall 2018 referendum period:

"Do you agree that the opt-outable \$0.52 SSMU Charity Fee, which is paid for by all SSMU members and accessible to all SSMU members who do not opt out of the fee, be renewed for five years, to start in Winter 2019, and to be charged until Winter 2024 (inclusive), with the understanding that a majority "no" vote would continue the nonexistence of the fund?"



**Office of the Speaker | Bureau de Président du conseil** Tel: (514) 398-6800 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | speaker@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish Street, Suite 1200, Montréal, Québec, H3A 0G3 *Located on unceded, Kanien'kehá:ka traditional territory* 

## Moved by:

Tre Mansdoerfer, President Jun Wang, Vice-President (Finance) Haoyi Qiu, Science Representative Bryan Buraga, Senate Caucus Gareth Price, Engineering Representative