

**Board of Directors | Comité d'Administration** Tel: (514) 398-6801 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | president@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 *Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories* 

## SSMU BOARD OF DIRECTORS PUBLIC MINUTES

September 5, 2019

The Board of Directors meeting of the Students' Society of McGill University (SSMU) will be held in the SSMU Boardroom on Thursday, September 5, 2019, at 6:00 p.m.

Present: Husayn Jamal (Chair, non-voting), Bryan Buraga (Officer), Sanchi Bhalla (Officer), Adam Gwiazda-Amsel (Officer), Garima Karia (Legislative Councilor), Billy Kawasaki (Officer), Jonah Levitt (Member-at-Large), Kyle Rubenok (Member-at-Large), Michal Chernov (Governance Manager, non-voting), Khatera Noor (HR Manager, non-voting), Sam Haward (Officer, non-voting), Lucille Xiang (Member-at-Large), Mu Rong Yang (Member-at-Large), Madeline Wilson (Officer, non-voting)

Absent: Shayan Sheikh (International Representative, non-voting), Ryan Hughes (General Manager, non-voting)

- 1. Call to Order: **18:08**
- 2. Land Acknowledgement (Chair)

The SSMU acknowledges that McGill University is situated on the traditional territory of the Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe nations, a place which has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst Indigenous peoples. The SSMU recognizes and respects these nations as the traditional custodians of the land and water on which it is located.

3. Adoption of the Agenda

The agenda is adopted unanimously.

4. Report of the Executive Committee

The President presents the motions up for approval. There are no questions on the report of the Executive Committee.

All motions are ratified by the Board.

5. Legislative Council Motions for Ratification

There are no Legislative Council motions to ratify.



**Board of Directors | Comité d'Administration** Tel: (514) 398-6801 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | president@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 *Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories* 

6. Email Approvals

There are no email approvals.

- 7. Motions for Approval
  - a. Motion to approve the minutes for Board of Directors 2019-07-09 Unanimous Approval
  - Motion to approve the minutes for Board of Directors 2019-07-16 Unanimous Approval
    - i. Minutes amendment from Director Haward to VP Finance Haward
    - ii. Fix Eventis spelling

The Chair asks if there is any opposition to approve the minutes. The only amendments are to change VP Finance Haward's name and to fix the spelling of Eventis.

Motion to approve the minutes by Director Rubenok, seconded by Director Gwiazda-Amsel.

There is no opposition to the approval of the minutes.

The motions are unanimously approved.

- 8. For Discussion
  - a. Nominating Committee Progress

Conducted interviews with <sup>3</sup>⁄<sub>4</sub> J-board candidates, last member will be interviewed at a later date. Director Rubenok mentions that there are 4 applicants for the BoD positions that are open. Director Rubenok explains that he is trying to get one of the Directors for the next meeting so they can make quorum more often. Director Rubenok also asks that some BoD members could join NomComm.

Director Xiang asks what is the time commitment for NomComm. Director Rubenok explains that usually, there are only two members of NomComm who attend the interviews, one of which is the Parliamentarian. Director Xiang shows interest in joining NomComm.

## Motion to nominate Director Xiang to NomComm by Director Karia, seconded by Director Bhalla.

There is no opposition.

This motion is unanimously approved.



**Board of Directors | Comité d'Administration** Tel: (514) 398-6801 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | president@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 *Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories* 

9. Confidential Session at 18:17

The Board goes into confidential session at 18:17.

10. Adjournment: 20:27

Bryan Buraga, President