## Proposed statute

3.4.2 Before recommending an appointment or reappointment for the office of dean, the Principal shall have consulted an advisory committee. The Principal shall select the dean only from those names submitted by this committee.

In the case of large faculties, the advisory committee shall consist of the following thirteen members:

(a) Six members elected by the professors, associate professors, assistant professors, and faculty lecturers appointed to the faculty immediately concerned;

(b) One member elected by the course lecturers and instructors appointed to the faculty immediately concerned;

(c) Two members elected by the non-academic staff appointed to the faculty immediately concerned;

(d) Three members elected by the McGill students whose primary area of study is within the faculty immediately concerned; and

(e) One member elected by the Senate.

In the case of small faculties, the advisory committee shall consist of the following seven members:

(a) Three members elected by the professors, associate professors, assistant professors, and faculty lecturers appointed to the faculty immediately concerned;

(b) One member elected by the course lecturers and instructors appointed to the faculty immediately concerned;

(c) One member elected by the non-academic staff appointed to the faculty immediately concerned; and

(d) Two members elected by the McGill students whose primary area of study is within the faculty immediately concerned.

In the case of the School of Continuing Studies, the advisory committee shall consist of the following seven members:

(a) Three members elected by the course lecturers and instructors appointed to the faculty immediately concerned;

(b) One member elected by the professors, associate professors, assistant professors, and faculty lecturers appointed to the faculty immediately concerned;

(c) One member elected by the non-academic staff appointed to the faculty immediately concerned; and

(d) Two members elected by the McGill students whose primary area of study is within the faculty immediately concerned.

In the case of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, the Principal shall have consulted an advisory committee of thirteen members, which shall consist of eight members of faculties offering graduate programs appointed by Senate, two members appointed by the Board of Governors, and three student members.

The selection process shall be an open procedure in that members of the advisory committee shall be free to consult with members of the faculty, the list of applicants on the short list for interview shall be disclosed to the members of the university, and candidates shall be provided the opportunity to meet members of the faculty.

Any faculty having fifty or more full-time members of faculty, exclusive of joint appointments with other faculties, shall be deemed a large faculty; any faculty having fewer than fifty full-time members exclusive of joint appointments with other faculties, shall be deemed a small faculty.

The advisory committee shall elect a chair from among its members. Deans shall be appointed for a period of five years and shall be eligible for reappointment.

## Current statute

3.4.2 Before recommending an appointment or reappointment for the office of dean of a large faculty, the Principal shall have consulted an advisory committee of thirteen members, which shall consist of four members nominated by the faculty immediately concerned, four members not necessarily members of the faculty concerned, nor of Senate, appointed by Senate, two members appointed by the Board of Governors, and three student members. In the case of small faculties, the Principal shall have consulted an advisory committee of seven members, which shall consist of two members nominated by the faculty immediately concerned, two members, not necessarily members of the faculty concerned, nor of Senate, appointed by the Board of Governors, and three student members of the faculty concerned, nor of Senate, appointed by Senate, one member appointed by the Board of Governors, and two student members. Before recommending an appointment or reappointment for the office of Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, the Principal shall have consulted an advisory committee of thirteen members, which shall consist of eight members of faculties offering graduate programs appointed by Senate, two members appointed by the Board of Governors, and three student members.

Any faculty having fifty or more full-time members of faculty, exclusive of joint appointments with other faculties, shall be deemed a large faculty; any faculty having fewer than fifty full-time members exclusive of joint appointments with other faculties, shall be deemed a small faculty. Nevertheless, part-time faculty members are eligible for election as faculty representatives on advisory committees on the appointment of deans.

The Principal shall normally be *ex officio* chair of the advisory committees for the appointment of deans. Deans shall be appointed for a period of five years and shall be eligible for reappointment.

