

SSMU BOARD OF DIRECTORS PUBLIC MINUTES

November 7, 2019

The Board of Directors meeting of the Students' Society of McGill University (SSMU) will be held in the SSMU Boardroom on Thursday, November 7, 2019, at 6:00p.m.

Present: Husayn Jamal (Chair, non-voting), Bryan Buraga (Officer), Sanchi Bhalla (Officer), Billy Kawasaki (Officer), Jonah Levitt (Member-at-Large), Kyle Rubenok (Member-at-Large), Lucille Xiang (Member-at-Large), Mu Rong Yang (Legislative Councilor), Garima Karia (Legislative Councilor), Director Wright (Legislative Councilor), Director Bhutkar (Legislative Councilor), Director Kline (Member-at-Large), Sam Haward (Officer, non-voting), Adam Gwiazda-Amsel (Officer)

Absent: Shayan Sheikh (International Representative, non-voting), Madeline Wilson (Officer, non-voting)

1. Call to Order: 18:10

The Speaker calls the meeting to order at 18:10.

Land Acknowledgement

The SSMU acknowledges that McGill University is situated on the traditional territory of the Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe nations, a place which has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst Indigenous peoples. The SSMU recognizes and respects these nations as the traditional custodians of the land and water on which it is located.

- 3. Adoption of the Agenda -- ADOPTED
- 4. Report of the Executive Committee -- APPROVED

Director Buraga points to the motions regarding Executive Committee, which are available in the appropriate folder on Google Drive. Director Buraga asks if the Directors have any questions.

The Board goes into recess at 18:14.

The Board comes back to session at 18:18.

5. Legislative Council Motions for Ratification

Board of Directors | Conseil d'Administration Tel: (514) 398-6801 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | board@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories

- a. Motion Regarding Amendments to the Internal Regulations of Elections and Referenda 2019-09-26 -- **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED**
- b. Motion Regarding Committee Allocations 2019-10-10 -- **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED**
- c. Motion Regarding Development and Implementation Process for Policies and Plans 2019-09-26 -- **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED**
- d. Motion Regarding Discretionary Funding for SSMU Drivesafe 2019-10-24
 --UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED
- e. Report-Club Committee 2019-10-24 -- UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED
- f. Motion Regarding Nomination of Directors for the 2019-2020 Board of Directors 2019-10-28 -- UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED
- g. Motion Regarding the Nomination of the Auditor for the Fiscal Year of 2020 2019-10-28
 --UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

Voting procedure on the Legislative Council motions:

In favour: Director Buraga, Director Bhalla, Director Kawasaki, Director Rubenok, Director Xiang, Director Karia, Director Wright, Director Bhutkar

Opposed:

Abstain: Director Kline, Director Levitt

- 6. Approval of Minutes
 - a. Minutes-Board of Directors-For Approval 2019-09-24 UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED
 - b. Minutes-Board of Directors-For Approval 2019-10-17 UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED
 - c. Minutes-Board of Directors-For Approval 2019-10-22 UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

The minutes are unanimously approved.

- 7. Email Approvals
 - a. Motion to mandate the Comptroller and Vice-President (Finance) to withdraw the total balance of Scotiabank Account #90001-0089419, close this account and deposit the total balance into RBC Account #1251875 (CLUSMM001) (2019-10-23) --

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

Voting procedure:



In favour: Director Buraga, Director Bhalla, Director Kawasaki, Director Levitt, Director Xiang, Director Yang, Director Karia, Director Wright, Director Bhutkar, Director Gwiazda-Amsel

Opposed:

Abstain:

This motion is unanimously approved.

b. Motion to accept the recommendation of the Nominating Committee and approve the nomination of Paige Collins, Jack Kline, Jonah Levitt, Ana Paula Sanchez to the Board of Directors as Members at Large for a term beginning on November 15th, 2019 and ending on November 14th, 2020 (2019-10-26) -- UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

Voting procedure:

In favour: Director Buraga, Director Bhalla, Director Kawasaki, Director Gwiazda-Amsel, Director Xiang, Director Yang, Director Karia, Director Wright, Director Bhutkar, Director Rubenok

Opposed:

Abstain: Director Kline, Director Levitt

This motion is unanimously approved.

c. Motion to accept the recommendation of the Nominating Committee and approve the nomination of Cherry Wu, Nikita Tafazoli to the Judicial Board (2019-10-25)

-- UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

Voting procedure:

In favour: Director Buraga, Director Bhalla, Director Kawasaki, Director Xiang, Director Yang, Director Karia, Director Wright, Director Bhutkar, Director Rubenok, Director Kline, Director Levitt

Opposed:

Abstain: Director Gwiazda-Amsel

This motion is unanimously approved.

d. Motion to remove Moses Milchberg as a Member at Large on the nominating committee and begin an immediate search for a replacement Member at Large (2019-10-25) --UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED



Voting procedure:

Abstain:

In favour: Director Buraga, Director Bhalla, Director Kawasaki, Director Gwiazda-Amsel, Director Xiang, Director Yang, Director Karia, Director Wright, Director Bhutkar, Director Rubenok, Director Kline, Director Levitt

Director Levitt

Opposed:

This motion is unanimously approved.

- 8. Motions for Approval
 - a. Motion to allow Directors-designate to attend this evening's confidential session **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED**

There is no discussion.

This motion is unanimously approved.

- 9. For Discussion
 - a. Nominating Committee

Director Rubenok explains that the Nominating Committee forgot that an international student representative must also be nominated by November 15th and this was not done. Director Rubenok will inform them that they need to put that posting up and proceed with interviews as soon as possible. Director Rubenok also adds that more Justices are soon to be nominated and the Directors are mostly all here.

Director Buraga asks Director Rubenok what suggestions he has to improve Nominating Committee.

Director Rubenok replies that the questions need to be re-written, as the questions they currently use for interviews are generic and are not related to the job specific scenarios. He also asks for more support from the Communications department when it comes to promoting the job search.

10. Confidential Session

The Board enters into Confidential session at 18:23.

Board of Directors | Conseil d'Administration Tel: (514) 398-6801 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | board@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories

11. Adjournment: **19:24**

Bryan Buraga, President