

MOTION REGARDING NOMINATIONS TO THE SOCIETY'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2020-11-24

Submitted for: 2020-11-24

Submitted to:	SSMU General Assembly			Document no.: LEG-PUB-MOT-2020-11-24-001			
Moved by:	Jemarl	k Earle		Current		FOR APPROVAL	
	President		Status:	₫			
						POSTPONED COMMITTED	
	_					NOT APPROVED	
Seconded by:	Benson Wan Medicine Representative						
	mearen	те кергез	cmative				
Issue	This motion seeks to nominate 12 Directors onto the Society's Board of						
15546	Directors, in line with the SSMU Constitution.						
		4	< 4				
Background and The Students' Society of McGill University ("SSMU") Board of					-		
Rationale		composed of individual Directors that are responsible for the SSMU's legal, financial, and operational affairs.					
		Tinanci	al, and operation	nai affairs.			
		In line	with the SSMU C	onstitution of the	e SSMU,	12 Directors must be	
		nominated by the members-at-large to sit on the Board of Directors for a					
		term of	fone (1) year in (duration.			
		The fol	lowing persons:	shall not be eligib	ole for th	ne office of Director:	
			• .	•		the age of majority,	
		2.	•	•		e a Director due to the	
				-		ervision in their respect or ion of obligations provided	
			•			gnized by a court as having	
			•	•		becomes bankrupt,	
			•		ıch pers	on makes arrangements	
		2	with their credi		aa Cana	dian sitizanahin ay	
		3.	•	ident status, and	ss canad	dian citizenship or	



Office of the Speaker | Bureau du présidente du conseil

Tel: (514) 398-6800 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | speaker@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories

4. Such persons who are Members at Large or Officers.

Alignment with	In line with the SSMU Constitution.				
Mission	The Nominating Committee approved (1) Ana Paula Sanchez Garcia, (2) Rohan Bhutkar, (3) Adin Chan, (4) Beatrice Mackie as Members at Large for the Board of Directors;				
	The Legislative Council approved the nominations of (5) Paige Collins, (6) Chip Smith, (7) Alex Karasick, and (8) Benson Wan as Councillor nominations at the October 22, 2020 Legislative Council meeting;				
	The Legislative Council nominated (10) Brooklyn Frizzle to serve on the Board of Directors;				
Overview of Proposed Amendments	Not applicable.				
Consultations Completed	Consultations with the President, Governance Manager, Legislative Council, Nominating Committee and the Board of Directors were completed.				
Risk Factors and Resource Implications	To ensure the sustainability, financial and operational matters of the Society.				
Sustainability Considerations	Not applicable.				

SSMU

Office of the Speaker | Bureau du présidente du conseil

Tel: (514) 398-6800 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | speaker@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories

Impact of Decision and Next Steps

Should this motion be approved, the Society's Board of Directors will be fully operational. Should this motion be approved, this will be sent to an online ratification to the Membership.

Motion or Resolution for Approval

Be it resolved, that the following individuals be appointed to the Board of Directors subject to an online ratification for a term beginning on November 15, 2020 to November 14, 2021:

- 1. Ana Paula Sanchez Garcia
- 2. Rohan Bhutkar
- 3. Adin Chan
- 4. Beatrice Mackie
- 5. Paige Collins
- 6. Chip Smith
- 7. Alex Karasick
- 8. Benson Wan
- 9. Jemark Earle
- 10. Brooklyn Frizzle
- 11. Maheen Akter
- 12. Gifford Marpole

Results of the Vote

In favour (46)

Opposed (2) Abstain (3)