

Board of Directors | Conseil d'Administration Tel: (514) 398-6800 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | board@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 *Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories*

SSMU BOARD OF DIRECTORS PUBLIC MINUTES

December 17, 2020

The Board of Directors meeting of the Students' Society of McGill University (SSMU) will be held by teleconference on Thursday, December 17, 2020 at 18:30.

Present: Lauren Hill (Chair, non-voting), Jemark Earle (Officer), Brooklyn Frizzle (Officer), Maheen Akter (Officer), Ayo Ogunremi (Officer, non-voting), Chip Smith (Legislative Councillor), Paige Collins (Legislative Councillor), Alex Karasick (Legislative Councillor), Benson Wan (Legislative Councillor), Rohan Bhutkar (Member-at-Large), Ana Paula Sanchez (Member-at-Large), Adin Chan (Member-at-Large), Addy Parsons (International Student Representative, non-voting), General Manager (non-voting),Governance Manager (non-voting), Sam Haward (Recording Secretary, non-voting)

Absent: Gifford Marpole (Officer), Beatrice Mackie (Member-at-Large)

1. Call to Order: **18:34**

The Chair calls the meeting to order at 18:34.

2. Land Acknowledgement

The SSMU acknowledges that McGill University is situated on the traditional territory of the Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe nations, a place which has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst Indigenous peoples. The SSMU recognizes and respects these nations as the traditional custodians of the land and water on which it is located.

3. Adoption of the Agenda – ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY

There are no changes to the agenda. The agenda is adopted unanimously.

4. For Discussion:

a. University Affairs Graphic

Director Frizzle states that the University Affairs portfolio and asks if the Board of Directors has any thoughts on the design. Director Chan states that they like the fourth design presented. Director Smith states that all designs look better than the AUS (Arts Undergraduate Society) logo. The Speaker



Board of Directors | Conseil d'Administration Tel: (514) 398-6800 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | board@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 *Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories*

conducts a straw poll as to which designs they prefer. The Board expresses a preference for the following design:



5. Confidential Session: **18:41**

The Board enters confidential session at 18:41.

6. Adjournment: 21:38

Hearle

Jemark Earle, President