

## SSMU BOARD OF DIRECTORS PUBLIC MINUTES

## April 28, 2022

The Board of Directors meeting of the Students' Society of McGill University (SSMU) will be held by teleconference on Thursday, April 28, 2022 at 18:00.

Present: Alexandre Ashkir (Chair, non-voting), Jaz Kaur (Parliamentarian, non-voting), Eric Sader (Officer), Sarah Paulin (Officer), Karla Heisele Cubilla (Officer), Ghania Javed (Council Member), Charlotte Gurung (Council Member), Yara Coussa (Council Member), Benson Wan (Council Member), Melissa Dunn (Member at Large), Asiyah Siddique (Member at Large), Kevin Franceschini (Member at Large), Ana Farias (Recording Secretary, non-voting), Kevin Francheschini (Member at Large, joined at 18:12)

1. Call to Order: 18:08

The Chair Calls the meeting to order at 18:08 on April 28, 2022.

2. Land Acknowledgement

The Chair presents the Land Acknowledgement.

The SSMU acknowledges that McGill University is situated on the traditional and unceded territory of the Anishinaabeg and Haudenosaunee nations. The SSMU recognizes and respects these nations as the true and constant custodians of the lands and waters on which we meet today. Further, the SSMU commits to and respects the traditional laws and customs of these territories.

3. Attendance

The Chair notes the absence of Director Francheschini.

4. Adoption of the Agenda – ADOPTED

Director Coussa motions to adopt the agenda, seconded by Director Gurung. There is no opposition.

The Agenda is adopted.

5. Question Period (5)



There are no questions.

Director Francheschini joins the meeting at 18:12.

6. Email Approvals:

The Chair presents the email approvals.

a. Motion to name the VP Finance as the SSMU representative to Board [McGill Board of Governors] until May 31st, 2022 inclusively 2022-04-21 – **APPROVED 2022-04-22** 

This motion was approved by email on April 22, 2022.

7. Confidential Session: **18:13** 

The Board of Directors enters into a Confidential Session at 18:13.

8. Adjournment: 20:21

Director Coussa motions to adjourn, seconded by Director Wan. There is no opposition.

The meeting adjourned at 20:21.

Risann Wright, President