

REPORT: STEERING COMMITTEE 2022-10-21

Submitted for: Tuesday, October 25th

The Steering Committee of the Students' Society of McGill University (SSMU) convened at 1 PM, 21st of October 2022 by teleconference.

Attendance

Present: Speaker Ashkir, President Wright, Parliamentarian Kaur, Councilor Adler, Councilor O'Boyle, Councilor Parish, Councilor Voutsinas

Regrets:

Guest Speakers

• There were no guest speakers at this committee's session.

New Business

- Motions reviewed by the committee are listed below. The committee undertook the formatting, stylistic, spelling, and grammatical changes it deemed necessary to all motions and notice of motions submitted by the deadline.
 - Motion Regarding the Referendum Question on the Renewal of the DPS Fee 2022-10-25
 - Motion Regarding Sustainability Projects Fund (SPF) Fee Renewal 2022-10-25
 - Motion Regarding an Interim Provision to the Internal Regulations of Governance Concerning Councilor Reports 2022-10-06

Reminders

We kindly ask Councillors to keep the following points in mind:

- Please read, understand, and consult on the documents submitted for each meeting of the Legislative Council. They are made available to Councillors Friday morning and posted publicly on the Monday before Legislative Council
- Please carefully consider and balance whether each motion needs to be debated and voted upon individually during the consent vote as this can help to expedite proceedings
- The suggested times for each motion appear on the agenda in square brackets as determined by the Steering Committee. The dais will endeavour to constrain debate to within these limits



Office of the Speaker | Bureau du président du conseil Tel: (514) 398-6800 | Fax: (514) 398-7490 | speaker@ssmu.ca 3600 McTavish St., Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3 *Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories*

Confidential Session

Councillors should be aware that there will not be a confidential session this evening.

Respectfully submitted,

Alexandre Ashkir, Speaker of the Legislative Council