

Située sur les territoires traditionnels des collectivités Haudenosaunee et Anishinaabe.

#### SSMU Office of the Speaker

Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories.

speaker@ssmu.ca | ssmu.ca | (514) 398-6800 | 3600 rue McTavish, Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3

# MOTION REGARDING AMENDMENTS TO THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL COMMITTEE ALLOCATIONS 2023-2024 2023-11-23

# Submitted for: 2023-11-23

Submitted to:	SSMU Legislative Council	Document no.:	LEG-PUB-MOT-2023-11-23-001
Moved by:	Alexandre Ashkir President	Current Status:	<ul> <li>FOR APPROVAL</li> <li>APPROVED</li> <li>POSTPONED</li> </ul>
Seconded by:	Shadi Wehbe Engineering Representative		<ul> <li>COMMITTED</li> <li>NOT APPROVED</li> </ul>
lssue			st nominate at least 1 Councillor to are included in Appendix A.
Background Rationale	("the SSMU") Legislat fill existing vacancies	ive Council that re s. The original mo the 28th of Sep	tudents' Society of McGill University equire Councillors to be appointed to otion was passed at the Legislative otember, 2023. Since then, several Council.
Alignment v Mission	vith As per the Policy on Er shall sit on a committe		es, "at least [one] 1 SSMU Councillor"
Consultatio Completed	ns Consultations comp Speaker, and Parliam		rnance Manager, Speaker, Deputy



Située sur les territoires traditionnels des collectivités Haudenosaunee et Anishinaabe.

# SSMU Office of the Speaker

Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories. <u>speaker@ssmu.ca</u> | <u>ssmu.ca</u> | (514) 398-6800 | 3600 rue McTavish, Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3

Risk Factors and	Should a Committee member not be able to attend the committee they	
Resource	were nominated to attend, a new member will be nominated to sit on said	
Implications	committee.	
Sustainability	To ensure the sustainability of SSMU's operations, it is important that each	
Considerations	Committee is well-represented by the undergraduate community.	
Impact of	The Speaker and Deputy Speaker will coordinate with the Committee	
Decision	Chairs to let them know the contact information of the new members of	
and Next Steps	each committee allocation respectively.	
Motion or Resolution for Approval	Be it resolved that, the Legislative Council approve the Committee Allocations set in Appendix A, and recommend the ratification of these selections to the SSMU Board of Directors at their next regularly scheduled meeting.	
Results of the Vote	In favour (UNANIMOUS) Opposed () Abstain ()	



Située sur les territoires traditionnels des collectivités Haudenosaunee et Anishinaabe.

#### SSMU Office of the Speaker

Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories. <u>speaker@ssmu.ca</u> | <u>ssmu.ca</u> | (514) 398-6800 | 3600 rue McTavish, Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3

# Appendix A: Committee Allocations 2023-2024

#### Councillors who are not assigned to a committee yet :

• Councillor McMechan

## Legend:

First Choice in Preference

First choice in preference but needs to be debated due to limited seats

Second Choice in Preference - First choice taken in first round allocation

Accessibility Committee (2 Councillors)

- Councillor Rajan
- Councillor

Affordable Student Housing Committee (2 Councillors)

- Councillor Porter
- Councillor

#### Black Affairs Committee (1 Councillor)

• VP University Affairs Katchelewa

Clubs Committee (2 Councillors)

- Councillor Rajan
- Councillor

Community Engagement Committee (2 Councillors)

- Councillor Renaud
- Councillor Tai

Comité des affaires francophones (2 Councillors)

- Conseiller Shannon
- Conseillère Fournier

EDI Working Group (1 Councillor)

• Councillor Baybayon

Environment Committee (1 Councillors)



Située sur les territoires traditionnels des collectivités Haudenosaunee et Anishinaabe.

#### SSMU Office of the Speaker

Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories. <u>speaker@ssmu.ca</u> | <u>ssmu.ca</u> | (514) 398-6800 | 3600 rue McTavish, Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3

• Councillor

Equity Committee (1 Councillors)

• Councillor Baybayon

### External Affairs Committee (2 Councillors)

- Councillor Duncan
- Councillor

Governance Reform Committee (2 Councillors)

- VP Gaither
- Councillor Gertsvolf

Finance Committee (4 Councillors)

- Councillor Qian
- Councillor
- Councillor
- Councillor

Gender and Sexuality Advocacy Committee (1)

• Councillor Foster

Funding Committee (3)

- Councillor Rajan
- Councillor
- Councillor

Indigenous Affairs Committee (1)

Councillor Foxman

Library Improvement Fund Committee (1)

Councillor Grall-Johnson

Mental Health Committee (2)

- Councillor Rajan
- Councillor Maselli

Services Review Committee (2)

- Councillor Rylo
- Councillor Pastrana Mankovitz

Steering Committee (4)

- Councillor Sakajiri
- Councillor



Située sur les territoires traditionnels des collectivités Haudenosaunee et Anishinaabe.

#### SSMU Office of the Speaker

Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories. speaker@ssmu.ca | ssmu.ca | (514) 398-6800 | 3600 rue McTavish, Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3

- Councillor
- Councillor

Students' Society Programming Network (SSPN) (2)

- Councillor Wehbe
- Councillor

Students Society at McGill for Maintaining Operations and Strategic Advancement (SSAMMOSA) Committee (4)

- VP Koulibaly
- Councillor
- Councillor
- Councillor



Située sur les territoires traditionnels des collectivités Haudenosaunee et Anishinaabe.

#### **SSMU Office of the Speaker**

Located on Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe, traditional territories. <u>speaker@ssmu.ca</u> | <u>ssmu.ca</u> | (514) 398-6800 | 3600 rue McTavish, Suite 1200, Montréal, QC, H3A 0G3

# Appendix B: SSMU Committee Classification

