Board Structure and its Committees

Board Structure and its Committees


The SSMU is the primary student government for over 24,000 undergraduate students at McGill University.

The SSMU is governed by a Board of Directors and Executive Committee of elected and nominated student representatives from undergraduate divisions.  Applications to become a board member are due in November, and elections for the Executive Committee take place in March. 

The current Board of Directors, including the members of the Executive Committee which some serve on the Board, has twelve (12)  seats which represent undergraduate constituents. It is important that all students have a voice in the governance of their student union.

The Students’ Society of McGill University (SSMU) is a not-for-profit organization incorporated under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (CNCA) and operates independently from McGill University.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is a body primarily responsible for the human resources, legal, financial, and operational affairs of the Society. The Board of Directors supervises the management and administer the business and affairs of the Society and exercises all of the powers of the Society, except for those which the Act expressly reserves to the Members, the whole subject to the provisions of the Act, the Constitution and the Internal Regulations. 

The Society shall be managed by a Board of Directors composed of twelve (12) voting Directors.

Board of Directors Resolution Book

A resolution book is a document which states all the approved resolutions by the board of directors throughout the years at the SSMU.

Consultation Policy

Meeting Dates

Note: Board of Directors meetings are held via Zoom. If you would like to attend a public session of the SSMU Board of Directors meeting(s), please complete the form with all the required information.

The SSMU reserves the right to cancel or call a meeting or event without notice at its discretion. Please check our website/social media for such updates.

Summer 2024

Thursday, June 13, 2024 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, July 25, 2024 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, August 22, 2024 at 6:00PM EST

Fall 2024 (In-Person)

Thursday, September 5, 2024 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, September 26, 2024 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, October 10, 2024 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, October 31, 2024 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, November 14, 2024 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, November 16, 2024 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, November 28, 2024at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, December 12, 2024 at 6:00PM EST

Winter 2025 (In-Person)

Thursday, January 9, 2025 at 7:30PM EST
Thursday, January 23, 2025 at 7:30PM EST
Thursday, February 6, 2025 at 7:30PM EST
Thursday, February 20, 2025 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, March 13, 2025 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, March 27, 2025 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, April 10, 2025 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, May 8, 2025 at 6:00PM EST
Thursday, May 22, 2025 at 6:00PM EST

Documents 2024-2025

Board Meeting 2023-06-13

Agenda-Board of Directors-Public-Approved 2024-06-13
Report-Nominating Committee (Redacted) 2024-06-13


Position Name Email Address
Officer Dymetri Taylor
Officer Abe Berglas
Officer Pauline Jolicoeur
Member at Large Fawaz Halloum
Member at Large Jean-Sébastien Léger
Member at Large Eliot Bergeron
Member at Large Elina Qureshi
Council Representative TBD
Council Representative Jacob Shannon
Council Representative TBD
Council Representative TBD


Non-Voting Members of Board of Directors
Position Name Email Address
International Student Representative (non-voting) Yvonne Bejjani
Officer (non-voting) Meg Baltes
Officer (non-voting) Chloé Muñoz
Officer (non-voting) Zeena Zahidah
Officer (non-voting) Hugo Solomon
Chair Jonathan Dong
Deputy Chair Sierra Fallis
Parliamentarian Lisa Pennel
General Manager Maya Marcus-Sells


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for providing advocacy and organizational direction of your student union each year. It consists of the President, and five Vice-Presidents who are elected annually in the March to represent the interests of the McGill undergraduate community, In addition to the General Manager who holds a non voting seat.

The Officers of the Society shall be the following: 

Committees of Board

The SSMU’s twenty six (26) committees assume responsibility for seeking and reviewing information, forming positions, and making recommendations to the body their report to. Committee members are elected and/or nominated and meet with weekly or bi weekly frequency. Each committee has a specific mandate, and all decisions made at the committee level are then sent to the Board of Directors for approval. 

The Committee Terms of Reference contains all of the information about the various committees at SSMU.

Committee Terms of Reference


Committee Description Chair
Executive Committee The Executive Committee is the chief decision-making committee of the SSMU, and oversees the day-to-day activities of the SSMU. President
Accountability Committee The Accountability Committee holds Officers, Senators, Directors and Councilors accountable to their obligations and responsibilities under the Constitution, Internal Regulations, Policies, and formal mandates. Speaker  
Finance Committee The Finance Committee assists the Vice-President (Finance) with the budget revisions. In particular, this committee will review the budgets for programming activities and executive portfolios. Finance Commissioner
Gendered and Sexual Violence Policy Committee The primary responsibility of the GSVP Committee is  to review investigations of the Anti-Violence Coordinators (AVCs) or third-party investigators as per the Gendered and Sexual Violence Policy, and to determine appropriate sanctions when complaints are found to be substantiated. Anti-Violence Coordinator(s)
Governance Reform Committee The Governance Reform Committee reviews the Society’s governance bodies, systems and structures with a view to making them reflective of SSMU’s Mission. Policy and Advocacy Coordinator   

Vice-President (Internal Affairs)

Health and Dental Review Committee The Health and Dental Review Committee  review the Health and Dental Plan and propose options for improvements to the plan. Vice-President (Finance)
Human Resources (HR) Committee The Human Resources Committee holds Supervisors accountable to their obligations and responsibilities under the Constitution, Internal Regulations, Policies, Contracts, and formal mandates. Human Resources Director
Nominating Committee The Nominating Committee works to ensure that positions on the Board of Directors and the Judicial Board are adequately filled during the academic year. Parliamentarian 
Students Society at McGill for Maintaining Operations and Strategic Advancement (SSAMMOSA) Committee SSAMMOSA Committee is  responsible for acting as an implementation & accountability committee to ensure that the goals of the SSMU Master Plan are met and updated on a yearly basis. President 

General Manager