Legislative Council

Legislative Council

The Legislative Council is the legislative arm of the SSMU. Thirty councillors elected by specific constituencies, including school and faculty associations and councils representing particular student demographics, and the seven (7) SSMU Executives comprise the voting members of Council. The Speaker, Parliamentarian, General Manager, and Recording Secretary are non-voting members. According to Article 3 of the SSMU Constitution, Council is the governing body of the Society and “shall be empowered to make all decisions and take all actions on behalf of the Society.

All SSMU members are welcome to attend open sessions of Council, which are generally held every second Thursday beginning at 6pm. In the Fall 2021 semester, all sessions of Council will be conducted via Zoom. If you would like to attend these online sessions as a member of the gallery, please fill out this form.

For 2021-2022, the dates of Council are:

Fall 2022

Thursday, September 15, 2022 at 6:00PM EST via Zoom
Thursday, October 6, 2022 at 6:00PM EST via Zoom
Tuesday, October 25, 2022 at 6:00PM EST via Zoom
Thursday, November 3, 2022 at 6:00PM EST via Zoom
Thursday, December 1, 2022 at 6:00PM EST via Zoom

Winter 2023

Thursday, January 19, 2023 at 6:00PM EST in Hybrid format (via Zoom or in Madeleine Parent Room (202))
Thursday, February 9, 2023 at 6:00PM EST via Zoom
Thursday, March 9, 2023 at 6:00PM EST via Zoom
Thursday, April 6, 2023 at 6:00PM EST via Zoom

While Council is run according to Code Véronneau, its proceedings should be accessible to all members; don’t hesitate to ask the Speaker, Parliamentarian or a Councillor (including Executives) how you can participate in the debate. Council meetings can last several hours, so if you are interested in a particular issue, it may be wise to check the agenda in advance and/or ask a Councillor to contact you (e.g. by text message) when the item relevant to your issue is coming up. The agenda order can also be amended to accommodate your schedule, so get in touch with a Councillor if this is something you require. You can peruse its agenda and “documents in advance” (reports of Executives and Committees, as well as proposed resolutions and policies) below.

Council Documents 2022-2023


Council Meeting 2022-01-19

Speaker of Council & Parliamentarian

Speaker of Council acts as the chair of Council. They are responsible for the smooth procedural functioning of Council meetings which includes the call to order (which opens the meeting), granting the floor (i.e. giving people permission to speak) and stating motions and putting them to a vote. The Speaker is guided in their tasks by Code Véronneau in addition to the Constitution, Internal Regulations and any relevant resolutions of Council.

Parliamentarian is also responsible for running Council with the Speaker. While the Speaker controls the floor and grants Councillors speaking rights in an appropriate fashion, the Parliamentarian takes care of the organization, projection and amending of motions and reports during Council.

Committees of Council

SSMU Committees make recommendations to Council on everything from the allocation of funding to student groups to the approval of new clubs to the adoption of new policies. Each Councillor sits on at least one SSMU Committee. The Committee Terms of Reference contains all of the information about the various committees at SSMU.


The voting members of SSMU’s Legislative Council comprise thirty councillors elected by specific constituencies, including school and faculty associations and councils representing particular student demographics, and the 6 SSMU Executives. The Speakers, Parliamentarian, General Manager, and Recording Secretary are non-voting members.

Councillors’ primary responsibility is to represent the interests of their constituencies in SSMU governance. Don’t hesitate to get in touch with your representatives!

This year’s representatives are:

Constituency Name Email Address
Arts David Mickelson artsrep1@ssmu.ca
Arts Mathew O’Boyle artsrep2@ssmu.ca
Arts Angelica Voutsinas artsrep3@ssmu.ca
Arts Aye Cham artsrep4@ssmu.ca
Arts and Science Natan Sakajiri artscirep@ssmu.ca
Athletics Sedami-Habib Djossou athleticsrep@ssmu.ca
Clubs TBD clubsrep1@ssmu.ca
Clubs Nadia Dakdouki clubsrep2@ssmu.ca
Dentistry Mahidul Syed dentistryrep@ssmu.ca
Education Julia Nam edrep@ssmu.ca
Environment Katie Thomas envirorep@ssmu.ca
Engineering Gavin Pollard engrep1@ssmu.ca
Engineering Mahia Reed engrep2@ssmu.ca
First Year Council (FYC) Maddie Daniels fycrep@ssmu.ca
Inter-Residence Council (IRC) TBD ircrep@ssmu.ca
Law Emily Thom lawrep@ssmu.ca
Management Inayyat Seth managementrep1@ssmu.ca
Management Harry Griffith managementrep2@ssmu.ca
Medicine Benson Wan medicinerep@ssmu.ca
Music TBD musicrep@ssmu.ca
Nursing Lenardo Miguel Dadulla nursingrep@ssmu.ca
PT/OT Elisa D’Amore ptotrep@ssmu.ca
Science Daniel Adler sciencerep1@ssmu.ca
Science Amelia Whitcomb sciencerep2@ssmu.ca
Science Grace Parish sciencerep3@ssmu.ca
Senate Caucus Coco Jie Wang artssenator1@ssmu.ca
Senate Caucus TBD
Services TBD servicesrep@ssmu.ca
Social Work TBD socialworkrep@ssmu.ca
Social Work TBD socialworkrep@ssmu.ca
President Risann Wright president@ssmu.ca
VP Internal Affairs Cat Williams internal@ssmu.ca
VP Student Life Hassanatou Koulibaly studentlife@ssmu.ca
VP Finance Marco Pizarro finance@ssmu.ca
VP External Affairs Val Masny external@ssmu.ca
VP University Affairs Kerry Yang ua@ssmu.ca


Non-Voting Members of Council
Position Name Email Address
Speaker of Council Alexandre Ashkir speaker@ssmu.ca
Speaker On-Call speaker@ssmu.ca
Parliamentarian Jasleen Kaur parliamentarian@ssmu.ca
Recording Secretary Sierra Fallis recsec@ssmu.ca
Recording Secretary recsec@ssmu.ca
General Manager gm@ssmu.ca